The Iron Throne

Aegon I Targaryen forged the Iron Throne from the swords of his conquered enemies, and it is the ultimate symbol of power in Westeros.

Fig. a – The Iron Throne of Aegon I Targaryen

Robert I Baratheon became the first non-Targaryen king to sit atop the Iron Throne when he rebelled against the tyranny of Aerys II Targaryen.

Fig. b – The Iron Throne of Robert I Baratheon

 Joffrey I Baratheon ascended to the Iron Throne after the sudden death of Robert I Baratheon during a hunting accident. Despite his youth and short reign, Joffrey earned a dreadful reputation and many enemies during the War of the Five Kings.

Fig. c – The Iron Throne of Joffrey I Baratheon

Daenerys Targaryen claims to be the legitimate heir of the Iron Throne. From across the Narrow Sea she plans her invasion of Westeros with her 3 dragons, but whether she eventually sits on it remains to be seen.

Fig. d – The Iron Throne of Daenerys Targaryen